Review: “My Beautiful Neighbor” by Piper Rayne

Series: The Greene Family, #1

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Steam: 🔥🔥🔥

Release Date: February 23rd, 2021

Add to Goodreads | Amazon.in

Who’s the mystery woman who just walked into my brewery?

I’m not the only one from my Alaskan small town asking themselves that question. But I’m positive, I’m the only one in Sunrise Bay undressing the pretty blonde in my head. Everything about her, from her make-up to her high heels says she’s a fish out of water.

Whispers and speculations run rampant until the secret of who she is gets uncovered. Then the rumor mill goes into overdrive when she announces she’s staying to open a bookstore in the building next to mine—throwing a big wrench into my plans to buy that empty building.

I quickly find myself in a tug-of-war since my business partner/brother is upset she’s ruined the opportunity to expand our business. I try to keep my distance, but I’ve got one sister with a gossip column on the local radio station and two meddling grandmas setting me up as a tour director.

And now I kind of like the idea of our new neighbor staying. But small-town life isn’t for the weak—time will tell if she has what it takes to be one of us.

 

I was so excited when Piper Rayne announced a brand new series, because after the Rooftop Crew (I know, I’m horrible for not reading about the Baileys yet), I was hoping for another addictive group of characters and we get them with the Greene family. They also released the prequel novella ahead of the release of this book, just to give you a glimpse into the life of the blended family that is the Greene Family. And can I just say that I love Marla and Hank and the love they share, as well as the family they raise?

You don’t need to read My Twist of Fortune (it’s free right now on Amazon!) to understand My Beautiful Neighbor, but it definitely helps to have that in hand to connect the characters. Hank and Marla Greene were married to different people once upon a time and after Hank lost his wife and Marla left her husband, they were brought back together by the fates that be in their small town of Sunrise Bay in Alaska. Of course both of them come with baggage and their own kids, so when they get married, a blended family is born. The Greene Family is one of a kind and a favourite in their town, so you’re in for a treat when the kids start to grow up and get around town.

My Beautiful Neighbor follows Hank’s eldest son, Cade Greene, and the new girl in town, Presley Knight. Cade and his step brother Jed own a brewery in town and Presley’s brought to town because of a family matter and being thrown together every step of the way puts a little bit of a strain on them. But Cade and Presley are drawn to each other like moths to a flame and they take the time to build a relationship slowly.

“I’m going to be her person.”

I really enjoyed the chemistry between Cade and Presley and I loved that they both know because of the Sunrise Bay rumour mill and the gossip mongers, they’re going to be watched closely at all times. Plus, Presley’s taking over the store space beside Cade’s brewery and all that sexual tension, desire and lust is bound to shake them up a little and complicate things after all. There is much to swoon about, since Cade is such a charming guy. He’s not trying to just get into her pants, he’s drawn to Presley in every way possible. And Presley is just as attracted to Cade. So to stave off all the rumors, they decide to indulge in a little friends with benefits situation, without some of the benefits because there are some complications you’ll learn about when you read the book. But that doesn’t stop them from having a steamy good time.

Individually, these characters are so great too. I love that even without the support of each other, they both stand perfectly well on their own. Cade is the oldest brother and he takes on a lot of responsibility in terms of making sure his siblings are fine and happy and that everybody new in town is taken care of. He’s a good guy and a decent human and he’s just always looking to do the right thing. Cade’s also still holding onto the pain of losing his mother, which he rarely talks about anyway.

Presley, on the other hand, is a badass independent woman who doesn’t care what people say about her heels, she’s going to wear them, she’s going to work in them and look damn good too. She’s also sassy and smart and so brilliantly written. I love that she puts her foot down and gets what she wants, but not by throwing a tantrum, but by explaining herself and making people understand her reasons. She’s such a tough woman and I truly enjoyed that about her.

“His kisses are like a glass of wine after a long day.”

And then together, they set the page on fire. It’s not just their sexual and physical chemistry, it’s also in the banter and the dialogue. They’re really just great together.

I just wasn’t a big fan of how fast everything happened, I felt like we were jumping a lot of things, but obviously writing down every minute of what happens would be a lot to take in. I just wish we got more. However, I am so very excited for the rest of the Greene Family and learning about these siblings. Especially thanks to that big bomb that was dropped at the end of this book! OHEMGEE!

Thanks to Piper Rayne and Wildfire Marketing Solutions for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.



4 responses to “Review: “My Beautiful Neighbor” by Piper Rayne”

  1. […] Rayne have created such an amazing family with the Greene family and this series is going to be so much fun! While the first book in the series was interesting and […]

    Like

  2. […] so much fun and so much drama and so entertaining. We’ve already experienced the awesomeness of Cade and Adam, now we finally get our first Greene sister and Nikki is truly the best way to start. […]

    Like

  3. […] for the upcoming books, but let me just say that it was great to be reunited with Hank & Marla, Cade & Presley, Lucy & Adam and Nikki & Logan! I love how their lives have evolved and the things […]

    Like

  4. […] own – Rylan. So far, we’ve seen Cade (Hank’s eldest son) and Presley fall in love in My Beautiful Neighbor, then we saw Adam (Hank’s youngest son) fall back in love with his ex in My Almost Ex and […]

    Like

Leave a comment

About Me

Hi! I’m Anna P. and welcome to my blog! I’ve been reading romance exclusively since 2010 and been reviewing and blogging for a few years since. In 2021, I published my debut romance novel that can be found on Amazon and in Kindle Unlimited.

my books

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started