Review: “Oops, I’ve Fallen” by Max Monroe

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Steam: 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

Release Date: March 27th, 2021

Add to Goodreads | Amazon.in (Available on KU)

If my time with Ryan Miller were a hit track on the radio, I imagine the lyrics would go something like this…

“We’re so different, but they say opposites attract. Oops, I’ve fallen, and my heart doesn’t want to come back.”

But, holy bingo night, is my attraction to the sexy, broody businessman so much more complicated than the chorus of a song.

His dad lives right next to my mom, and after the two of them suffered an unexplained accident while taking down holiday decorations, both Ryan and I were forced to become the only thirtysomething residents of Sunny Creek Village Independent Senior Living Community.

Temporarily moving in might seem like overkill for a fractured tailbone and a severely pulled groin muscle, but believe me, when your mom is as wild as mine and your dad is as cantankerous as Ryan’s, they need supervision to ensure they stick to doctor’s orders.

Constantly thrown together by the antics of our crazy parents and the tough-as-nails community enforcer, Betty Matthews, Ryan and I formed an alliance for the sole purpose of survival.

But I never expected to be so interested in finding out what he was hiding beneath his grumpy, serious demeanor. More than that, I never dreamed what I found would be the kind of man women sell their souls to the devil for.

Unfortunately, our little one-hit wonder on the airwaves has more to say before it comes to an end.

Although, finishing the outro to this song is a real doozy…

Tell me…what lyric rhymes with Oops, I’ve fallen for my future stepbrother?

In true Max Monroe fashion, this book was hilarious. One thing you can always be sure to get with a Max Monroe book is the fantastic humour, characters with all kinds of quirky personality traits and just absolutely entertaining relationships. And in Oops, I’ve Fallen not only do we have two entertaining leads, but we’ve got a whole host of characters from a senior living community and all the shenanigans they got up to.

“He’s the kind of guy that turns worlds upside down—the kind of guy that makes you flip your own world upside down. When you fall for a guy like him, you don’t get back up.”

I should also point out that while funny and hot as hell, Oops, I’ve Fallen is not my favourite Max Monroe book. There were moments when I felt like it was taking too long to move ahead and the shenanigans of the secondary characters were becoming far more important and in focus than those of the primary characters. While Carly, Ryan, Sal and Stella are entertaining as hell, I think I would have been okay.

But, at the same time, this book is VERY HOT. Be warned by how steamy it is, because holy gods, I was not expecting that. I love seeing buttoned up businessmen unleash their sex god skills in the bedroom in the most unexpected fashion and Ryan Miller does all of that and more. He’s just so damn hot too. As you’d imagine, he’s a rule follower, likes his things organised and lives his life routinely. He’s hot in a suit and hot in his birthday suit too. He’s basically your ideal buttoned up businessman and I really liked that about Ryan.

Then there’s Carly. Good grief, she’s so much fun. Not going to lie, there were moments when she annoyed me, but she’s hella entertaining. You’re going to be giggle snorting a lot when she’s on the page. She’s quirky, entertaining, funny and also just really a great character. Max Monroe always delivers a great heroine who is so much more than just a pretty face and a quirky personality, so you can be guaranteed that Carly is that and much more.

“I have to make sure Carly Page understands what I’ve finally come to recognize—together, we burn bright.” 

Together, these two are so great. They don’t like each other at first, it’s a total enemy situation and it’s so entertaining. Ryan and Carly are complete opposites, as you can imagine, and they go through the motions of pissing each other off. Which only gets more and more hilarious as we go along. But also, when the gloves come off (like I said before), it’s so damn hot. The sex scenes in this book are pretty intense and if you’ve missed this level of steam from the duo, you’re in for a treat. There’s a lot of sneaking around, there’s a lot of dom/sub behaviour (even though Ryan insists he’s not a dom) and there’s just so much incredible sexual chemistry.

Personally, I felt like the relationship didn’t have grounds to turn into what it did become. I liked them together, don’t get me wrong, but I felt like there was something missing. They bring out the best in each other and that only amplifies their relationship, but at the same time, it didn’t hit me in the feels like I hoped it would. If I’m being honest, Sal and Stella’s relationship did it for me, because that’s a story for the ages (pun intended).

I will read any and every Max Monroe book and love on my favourite duo any day of the week, so if you’re looking for a romantic comedy with some of the most entertaining secondary characters, then Oops, I’ve Fallen, is the treat you’ve been waiting for.

Thanks to Max Monroe and Social Butterfly PR for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.



Leave a comment

About Me

Hi! I’m Anna P. and welcome to my blog! I’ve been reading romance exclusively since 2010 and been reviewing and blogging for a few years since. In 2021, I published my debut romance novel that can be found on Amazon and in Kindle Unlimited.

my books

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started