Review: “Relentless” by Adriana Locke

Series: Mason Family, #4

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨

Steam: 🔥🔥🔥

Release Date: September 3rd, 2021

Add to Goodreads | Amazon.in (Available on KU)

“I had to sneeze.”

I should’ve taken her insurance information and driven off like any reasonable CEO with places to be would.

She crashed into my car, for heaven’s sake. Because she had to sneeze.

What did I do? I didn’t get in my car and drive away, if that’s what you’re thinking.

Nope. I stuck around. I could suggest I stayed because she needed help, but the truth? She was really, really hot.
We became fast friends. Then friends with benefits. Before I knew it, we were involved in an illicit office romance that had me fumbling through a drawerful of panties to get a Post-It.

It was supposed to be easy—a fling, if you will. A dashing millionaire hero (*adjusts tie*) and a beautiful (stubborn, frustratingly independent, hell-on-wheels) damsel in distress. (Don’t tell her I said that.)

It wasn’t supposed to be forever, but we did want a happy ending. (Pun intended.) We could’ve made it work, too.

But one of us overcomplicated things with the L-word. And the other? They omitted a truth that changed everything.

 

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, Adriana Locke writes the best families ever. Everyone loves the Landry gang and the Gibson group, but now we all also love the Mason family. These five boys and their love for their mother blows my mind! Plus, there’s all the amazing brotherly love that you can’t escape and every single book of this series has made me love the family even more.

Relentless is the fourth book in the Mason Family series and this time, we get to see into the life of Oliver. You’ll remember him as being the co-CEO of Mason Limited alongside Holt (Restraint) and now, Oliver needs an executive assistant to help make his work-life balance a little smoother. Little does he know that he’s going to meet the most incredible woman to take the job and then have to figure out how to resist her the whole time.

Shaye is a little down on her luck. After the end of her terrible marriage and having to pay off her late husband’s loans, she’s struggling quite a bit. She might have a job she loves, but it’s not enough. So she’s looking for a new job and lands up at Mason Limited to work as an executive assistant. Little does she know that the person she’ll be working for is the same man she crashed into the day before with her car. The very same car that he fixed together temporarily with zip ties. Oliver isn’t expecting her either, so when they meet and talk in a (sort of) professional manner, it becomes clear that they both want the same thing – to be around each other.

I enjoyed reading these characters, but I didn’t feel the chemistry between them till halfway through the book. Shaye’s a wonderful character, lifting herself up after so much tragedy has befallen her. She’s a tough woman, not letting anything bring her down, even when she’s feeling the worst and struggling more than usual. Oliver has been burned by a beautiful woman before, so even though he’s got these feelings for Shaye, he’s afraid to act on them, because he’s not sure if she’s going to choose him because of his money or because she likes him genuinely.

There’s a lot going on in their lives that I feel like weren’t talked about properly or at the same time. By the end of the book, you have all the pieces, but at first you’re not entirely sure what you know about these characters.

Relentless is an insta-lust, workplace romance featuring an incredible family and lots of brotherly love.

Thanks to Adriana Locke for generously providing me with an advance copy. I am voluntarily leaving an honest review.



Leave a comment

About Me

Hi! I’m Anna P. and welcome to my blog! I’ve been reading romance exclusively since 2010 and been reviewing and blogging for a few years since. In 2021, I published my debut romance novel that can be found on Amazon and in Kindle Unlimited.

my books

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started