Review: “My Sister’s Flirty Friend” by Piper Rayne

Series: The Greene Family, #4

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Steam: 🔥🔥🔥🔥

Release Date: November 2nd, 2021

Add to Goodreads | Amazon.in

I broke the cardinal rule and slept with my sister’s best friend.

Granted, I’d just found out that I was now a single father to a three-year-old little girl and was low on willpower.

It should also be noted that there’s been sexual tension between us for years.
 
There’s no way it would be a surprise if anyone in our small town found out.
 
That is if we were telling people, which we’re not.

We’re in agreement to keep our affair a secret, especially since neither one of us do relationships.

You’ve probably figured it out already, but things didn’t go as planned.

 

I know we’re only four books into Piper Rayne’s series featuring the Greene family, but guys, I am obsessed with them. From Marla and Hank’s love story in the free novella to everything that’s happened with Cade/Presley, Adam/Lucy and Nikki/Logan – I am addicted to this family and all the things that they keep finding themselves doing. And let’s not forget Grandma Ethel and her best friends Dori and Midge – these three women and their antics at the Northern Lights Retirement Community keep me going, no lie.

In case you haven’t read any of the books so far, a little download: Marla and Hank were married to different people, but then Hank lost his wife and Marla divorced her husband. Her husband also happens to be distant(ish) cousins with Hank. But when Marla is finally done with all divorce proceedings, she moves to Sunrise Bay and reconnects with Hank, who has always had feelings for her. They date and then get married, blending their two larger than life families. So now, not only have they raised a whole heap of kids, they even have one of their own – Rylan. So far, we’ve seen Cade (Hank’s eldest son) and Presley fall in love in My Beautiful Neighbor, then we saw Adam (Hank’s youngest son) fall back in love with his ex in My Almost Ex and finally, we got to watch Nikki (Marla’s eldest daughter) have a Vegas wedding with a famous athlete in My Vegas Groom.

Now, we get to see how Jed (Marla’s eldest son) fares when he’s facing feelings and chaos when it comes to Molly, his sister’s best friend.

I have been pining for Jed since we met him in the first book – between his strained relationship with his father and the complicated relationship he had with Cade, he’s always intrigued me. Attractive, charming and a total playboy, Jed owns and runs Truth or Dare Brewery along with his brother Cade. He’s the kind of guy every woman wants with a dazzling smirk, sparkling eyes and of course arms covered in ink. He’s got bad boy written all over him. And if that’s not enough, Jed doesn’t want relationships or commitment, because after watching what his father did to his mother, he doesn’t trust himself to be the same way. He’d rather just sow his wild oats and have a good time. Molly is the same way, except, she’s been secretly in love with Jed from the moment he transferred to Sunrise Bay when they were teenagers. As the best friend of his sister, Molly knows that she can’t cross that line. But when they spend hours on hours together at the brewery, the attraction can’t be ignored. Molly’s also got a reputation, one that she didn’t work too hard to shake off, but how can she do that when her mother lives her life going through every man who looks her way?

Their relationship is hot! They hook up pretty early on in the book and kick into a friends with benefits situation that’s all kinds of delicious. I really enjoyed watching them pretend like it was just sex and nothing else, when in reality, it was so much more. Their physical chemistry might be off the charts, but what really got me was their emotional relationship. There’s all this pent up feelings that they’re holding onto and navigating through, but there’s still something good there between them. And that’s what Molly thinks about when she puts an end to their friends with benefits situation, preferring to focus on school and work and her other friendships.

I think for me what really did the trick was the introduction of Emilia into the story. When a random one night stand from three years ago turns into Jed being thrust into fatherhood, the playboy vanishes and in his place we have a swoony single dad who is struggling to make sense of what’s happening to him. I loved that! Jed’s transformation and his learning curve was really a big deal for me, because we’ve seen him as a player the last few books, so this was a good change and it made me happy. But it also brings Molly into the picture to help Emilia and through the bonding, they become this tiny family that is so so precious. I love how much effort Jed puts in, but also that he’s not perfect at any point. He’s learning and he’s struggling and as someone who doesn’t know the first thing about being a father, I really admired how hard he worked to get there.

As always, Ethel and Dori are the stars of the series with their meddling and their lack of filters. I love those two kooks because they add laughter and shenanigans to the stories we’re all falling in love with. I cannot wait to see what happens with Fisher and Allie, and definitely cannot wait to see what comes of the other couples, because there are so many stories to be told and so many kids to fall in love with!

Thanks to Piper Rayne & Wildfire Marketing Solutions for generously providing me with an advance copy. I am voluntarily leaving an honest review.



Leave a comment

About Me

Hi! I’m Anna P. and welcome to my blog! I’ve been reading romance exclusively since 2010 and been reviewing and blogging for a few years since. In 2021, I published my debut romance novel that can be found on Amazon and in Kindle Unlimited.

my books

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started