Review: “My Lucky Night” by Olivia Spring

Series: My Ten-Year Crush, #2

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨

Steam: 🔥🔥🔥

Release Date: November 11th, 2021

Add to Goodreads | Amazon.in (Available on KU)

She hates Christmas. He’s about to change her mind…

Cassie isn’t a fan of Christmas. After a string of unlucky incidents during the festive season—including getting dumped—this year she decides to spend the day at home. Alone. No men. No complications.

But then her nightmare boss demands she track down this year’s most coveted Christmas gift—and the only person who can help is an annoyingly sexy Frenchman she’s just met.

Nicolas might look hot, but Cassie can tell he’s also arrogant, irritating and in love with himself. Exactly the kind of guy she hates. Plus, he’ll only help her find the gift if she helps him with something in return…

Could Cassie’s festive fortunes finally be about to change? Can she learn to love Christmas again? And will Cassie get lucky in more ways than one?

Set against a gorgeous London backdrop with sparkling lights, Christmas markets and mistletoe, My Lucky Night is a fun, sexy enemies-to-lovers romcom novella that will give you all the feels! Ideal for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Mhairi McFarlane.

 

As someone who is not a fan of anything related to Christmas till the week of the holiday, I was pretty excited to read this novella. It’s a quick, fun, flirty and sexy read and it definitely set the mood for some Christmas excitement in my life.

I’m not a big fan of enemies to lovers, but this one was fun. The enemies portion of their relationship is short lived, but I liked the back and forth and the banter. Cassie and Nicolas meet when he cuts the line at the coffee shop and pisses her off. She’s not a big fan of the holidays, so to be surrounded by joy and cheer really drives her insane. And then here comes this attractive Frenchman who thinks he can do whatever he wants? Their connection is obviously off to a rocky start, but when her boss from hell (seriously, Spencer was the worst) basically blackmails her into getting a product that is clearly out of stock for his mistress, Cassie and Nicolas go on an adventure.

I enjoyed the fact that it was set in London––a city that I miss terribly––and we get to go on this little Christmas adventure with the two of them. To people who’ve never lived in London, the names of streets and random locations might not produce too much excitement, but it gives you an idea of what they’re doing. Nicolas has a list and he wants to do it all before he goes back to Paris. And in exchange for Cassie helping him do all the things on his list, he’ll make sure that she gets her hands on the gift that her boss wants.

Because it’s a novella, you know that there’s only a certain amount of time for them to go through the process of being enemies to friends to lovers and I felt like it all rushed through a little faster than I would have liked. I did enjoy that they spent a little time talking about their respective lives and that Cassie opened up about her dislike for Christmas. While I knew it was going to be a single POV going in, I would have definitely liked to see Nicolas’ side of things––I feel like he would have had a lot to say.

My Lucky Night was a cute, holiday themed romance that injected a little bit of Christmas spirit into my cold cold heart.

Thanks to Olivia Spring for generously providing me with an advance copy. I am voluntarily leaving an honest review.



Leave a comment

About Me

Hi! I’m Anna P. and welcome to my blog! I’ve been reading romance exclusively since 2010 and been reviewing and blogging for a few years since. In 2021, I published my debut romance novel that can be found on Amazon and in Kindle Unlimited.

my books

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started