Review: “My Unexpected Surprise” by Piper Rayne

Series: The Greene Family, #5

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐✨

Steam: 🔥🔥🔥

Release Date: December 14th, 2021

Add to Goodreads | Amazon.in

I never thought of myself as dad material.
Until my one-night stand showed up in my small Alaskan town five months pregnant.

But I don’t shy away from responsibility. First, because I’m a Greene and not to boast but we’re kind of a big deal in Sunrise Bay. Second, I’m the Sheriff.

I couldn’t have predicted how protective I’d become for the safety of her and my unborn baby to the point of asking her to move in with me and be my roommate.

Just when I think I have the situation under control, another surprise knocks me over, but it only spurs me to double down.

I’ll be the first to admit, I didn’t think it through. Somewhere between the dinners, the TV show binging, the doctor appointments, and me walking in on her naked, lines blurred.

In what feels like warp speed, my bachelor for life status is in jeopardy and I’m fighting for the most important thing of all—my family.
 

 

A part of me is still reeling from how great this book was! I feel over the course of the first four books—and the two novellas—I’ve never really given Fisher Greene much thought, but he’s always been there in the background as the sheriff of Sunrise Bay and as a brooding member of the Greene family, but seeing him in this book made me love him so much.

My Unexpected Surprise is book five of the Greene Family series by Piper Rayne that’s set in a small town called Sunrise Bay in Alaska. This family is incredibly wonderful and with every book, we’re introduced to more siblings and their personalities, to the relationships they’ve all built. Hank and Marla Greene are the parents, but I think everything about the familial relationship will make sense if you pick up My Twist of Fortune (it’s the prequel novella and is available for FREE on Amazon). This book is a medium angst, friends to lovers, surprise pregnancy, grump x sunshine romance that will captivate you right from the start.

Fisher has spent most of his life mourning the loss of his mother and in some ways, it’s partly why he worked to become the sheriff of the small town he grew up in. He’s good at his job, but he’s not so good with relationships. He doesn’t see the need to get involved in romance when he can just use sex to distract from everything else. Fisher is also an epic grump and not for any reason but that he’s constantly being tested at his job and with his incredibly intrusive family. Allie works as a nurse and has dreams of the perfect life—knight in shining armor, picket fence, etc—but with every guy she meets, she finds that it’s less likely to become reality. And it’s becoming clearer to her that she needs to shed this pressure she puts on herself to find the perfect life, especially when she discovers she’s pregnant after a one night stand.

I should warn you, while the other Greene siblings have had steamy and heated romances, Fisher and Allie have an incredibly slow burning romance. And I loved every minute of it. Fisher is an overprotective and possessive man, so the minute he discovers Allie is pregnant with his baby, he insists that she move in with him and they find a way to make things work. Of course, Allie doesn’t believe that Fisher is going to be her Prince Charming, which adds to the frustrations in their relationship. For Fisher, keeping feelings separate from the right thing he should be doing is not that hard. In fact, he’s made it clear that whatever’s happening between them is not romantic, it’s sensible for their unborn child. And it’s safe to say that Allie is unhappy with all of this.

But all said and done, the way they go from being regular friends to being so much more is so beautiful. It’s slow in every way, but it really gives you a feeling of being part of their journey. Their friendship and relationship feels real, which is always a good thing. And they work through the fact that they’re going to be a family one way or another by making mistakes, tripping over each other and finding the perfect balance. I loved that it wasn’t always easy and there were moments when things looked anything but simple, but how it always worked out and made sense in the end. I also loved the scenes where Cameron gave Fisher advice or where Hank sits his son down and talks to him about his late wife and choices they need to make. It’s safe to say that any time Hank or Marla sits down with one of their kids and hands out advice, my heart explodes with love for them.

I am honestly loving everything about the Greene family and can’t wait to pick up the next one, because from everything that we’ve seen of the hero, it’s going to be a whole heap of fun.

Thanks to Piper Rayne & Wildfire Marketing Solutions for generously providing me with an advance copy. I am voluntarily leaving an honest review.



Leave a comment

About Me

Hi! I’m Anna P. and welcome to my blog! I’ve been reading romance exclusively since 2010 and been reviewing and blogging for a few years since. In 2021, I published my debut romance novel that can be found on Amazon and in Kindle Unlimited.

my books

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started