NetGalley Review: “Boss Witch” by Ann Aguirre

Series: Fix-It Witches #2

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Steam: 🔥🔥🔥

Release Date: April 5th, 2022

Add to Goodreads | Amazon.in

CW/TW: toxic family situations, child of divorce, threats and minor scenes of violence

Ride-or-die female friendships
A bisexual heroine who stubbornly refuses to accept help
A hero with an incredibly pesky moral conscience
A mouse named Benson who may or may not have all the answers to life, magic, and love (Spoiler: he does!)

Clementine Waterhouse is a perfectly logical witch. She doesn’t tumble headlong into love. Rather she weighs the pros and cons and decides if a relationship is worth pursuing. At least that’s always been her modus operandi before. Clem prefers being the one in charge, always the first to walk away when the time is right. Attraction has never struck her like lightning.

Until the witch hunter comes to town.

Gavin Rhys hates being a witch hunter, but his family honor is on the line, and he needs to prove he’s nothing like his grandfather, a traitor who let everyone down. But things in St. Claire aren’t what they seem, and Gavin is distracted from the job immediately by a bewitching brunette with a sexy smile and haunting secrets in her eyes.

Can the bossiest witch in town find a happy ending with the last person she should ever love?

 

I read Witch Please and Boss Witch one after the other, because I wanted to get the full feel of this universe and I’m glad I did that. Because having all of the background necessary for the Waterhouse witches really helped make book two that much stronger. While Witch Please set the tone for the series and the Waterhouse family, Boss Witch really carried the entire story. I’m a sucker for witches and magic and that was lacking in the first book, but the second one had that and so much more. I didn’t know what I was getting myself into, but I’m really happy with how it all worked out. It is recommended to read these two books in order even though there are scenes that overlap through the second book, but reading the first one gives you a full look into this family, their magic and all the drama that follows. 

I was really curious about how Clementine would get Gavin off Danica’s scent after he showed up in town and I have to say that I absolutely loved their scenes together. The flirting and the banter were entertaining and I really enjoyed watching them resist each other every step of the way. I also definitely liked the whole forbidden romance aspect because as a witch, Clem really shouldn’t have anything to do with Gavin as a witch hunter and vice versa. But sometimes, the heart and body wants what it wants. Gavin was such an interesting character! While I liked Titus, he didn’t really make me feel a whole lot. Whereas Gavin’s struggle and torment about being a witch hunter, the dislike he has for his father and the family business all added so much more to him as a character. It also made the relationship between Clem and Gavin that much stronger and interesting, because they had their own wounds and they had this external complication that was really testing them every step of the way.

Clementine was also a much more interesting heroine than Danica was and I loved how much she brought to the table. She’s tough, stubborn and sarcastic, she’s also fearless and sometimes a little reckless, but all of that made her so interesting. She uses all her strengths to get what she wants and steps back to lean on others when things get tough. I feel like one of the reasons she’s more interesting is because this book is not only about her relationship with Gavin, it’s about her relationship with the coven and Danica, her grandmother and her parents. All of these little pieces and elements really lends to making Clem a more rounded and lovable character.

I knew that their relationship was going to be way hotter than book one and it was. I loved the insta-lust and the unyielding desire to just have each other all the time. But I also loved how slow they took it, how they built this connection up with all that sexual tension and the teasing before they leaped at the chance for more. The combination of their emotional and physical relationship really strengthened what they had going for them and I loved that so much.

My favourite thing about this book is the amount of magic that we finally get to see. In the first book, there’s a certain amount of magic and we don’t see Danica do more than that. But with this book, Clementine and the coven use magic and talk about magic more than I expected. I loved that we got to see them be actual witches instead of women who have powers and use it on the side. It also gives us a better glimpse into the working of the coven, which was such a treat for me and connected us to each of those women in a completely new way.

All in all, this book made me happy and I enjoyed it for all that it was. And knowing that Leanne and Trevor are getting their own book makes me so giddy, because the little teaser we got in this book has me super excited to see where things go!

Thanks to Sourcebooks Casablanca and NetGalley for generously providing me with an advance copy. I am voluntarily leaving an honest review.



Leave a comment

About Me

Hi! I’m Anna P. and welcome to my blog! I’ve been reading romance exclusively since 2010 and been reviewing and blogging for a few years since. In 2021, I published my debut romance novel that can be found on Amazon and in Kindle Unlimited.

my books

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started