Review: “It’s A Widow Thing” by Karen Booth

Series: Never Too Late #3

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Steam: 🔥🔥🔥

Release Date: May 23rd, 2022

Add to Goodreads | Amazon.in (Available on KU)

CW: death of a partner, mentions of cancer, mentions of a heart attack

He’s on the fast-track to serious, and she’s hitting the brakes.

When cosmetics entrepreneur Sabrina Kelly waited until she was thirty-eight to marry, she never thought she’d be widowed by forty. Now, two years later, she’s ready for a dip in the dating pool. And Michael, the merciless flirt who lives down the hall, seems like a fun way to get wet. He has “player” written all over him, but Sabrina’s not looking for a love connection. Her heart can’t take more than a fling.

Wall Street mogul Michael Wright has ignored his mom’s pressure to marry for years. But it’s not until he has a health scare that he finally takes stock of his life. If he’s going to settle down, only one woman comes to mind… his gorgeous, whip-smart neighbor, Sabrina. Their chemistry is off the charts. The banter? So. Hot. But while he’s working overtime to woo her, she’s holding back. Can two people running at different speeds get to happily-ever-after together?

 

I have been enjoying Karen Booth’s Never Too Late series because all the books follow characters above the age of 40 finding themselves, finding love and a second chance at life. And that’s really special. We’re always surrounded by stories of characters in their 20s or early 30s, but what about everyone else? And maybe it hits closer to home because I’m nearing my 40s. But still, these books are great and definitely recommended!

It’s A Widow Thing follows Sabrina Kelly two years after the death of her husband. She’s got her own line of makeup and she’s doing quite well for herself by slowly building a brand and a name in New York. Sabrina’s part of a Widow’s Group where she finds solace and comfort in the arms of people that she considers surrogate mothers. While she’s not against the idea of a relationship, there is a part of Sabrina that’s not sure if she should move on with her life. But Michael Wright swoops in and makes her realise that maybe a little something now and then wouldn’t be the worst. Son of a senator, Michael is a money guy and charming to boot. He’s smooth and sexy, he sweeps Sabrina off her feet. As neighbours, the two of them often flirt in the elevator as they head out to work, but Michael wants more and Sabrina is undoubtedly attracted to him. But is she ready for something big?

These characters were so interesting on their own. I loved Sabrina’s journey to moving on and moving forward between the sessions with the other widows and focusing on her work and her brand. I admired just how much she’s been able to achieve and do with her life, even through the grief she’s obviously carrying. I also liked that the story picks up two years after the death of her husband, so we start with Sabrina already on her healing journey as opposed to dealing with the actual grief and everything that comes with it. I liked Michael’s personality and how much he brings to the table, but I’m still unsure of what Michael does for a living, which is not the end of the world because he works with money, but what else? Michael’s love for his family was definitely a big plus point in my mind and I definitely enjoyed the interactions we got with them.

“This was the only place he wanted to be, not only because of his physical needs. He wanted to be with no other woman on Earth at that moment.”

I’ll admit that I didn’t feel the romance between the characters, but I most definitely enjoyed and loved their friendship. I love how they took things one day at a time, how patient Michael was even when he was persistent. How charming and fun their dates were. I enjoyed watching them slowly develop feelings for each other outside of the fact that they were attracted to each other. I loved the way Michael and Sabrina fit in with their families and friends, how easily those bonds were formed even if they weren’t entirely sure of each other most of the time.

It’s A Widow Thing is a cute and steamy romance about having a second chance at love after losing the love of your life. It’s about taking chances and finding joy in the little things. It’s about never giving up. And I think in life, we all need to remember to never give up.

Thanks to Karen Booth for generously providing me with an advance copy. I am voluntarily leaving an honest review.



Leave a comment

About Me

Hi! I’m Anna P. and welcome to my blog! I’ve been reading romance exclusively since 2010 and been reviewing and blogging for a few years since. In 2021, I published my debut romance novel that can be found on Amazon and in Kindle Unlimited.

my books

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started