Review: “Love Like No Other” by Jenna Hartley

Series: Alondra Valley #2

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Steam: 🔥🔥🔥🔥

Release Date: August 24th, 2022

Add to Goodreads | Amazon.in (Available on KU)

CW: mentions of suicide (past), parental death, grief, mentions of cancer, character with IBS

I’m secretly falling for Penny, but she has no idea who I really am.

She came to my small town to get married and to be closer to her idol—her fellow romance author, Meghan Hart.

But when Penny’s fiancé left her at the altar, she needed an escape. One I was more than willing to provide.

It was supposed to be for one night, but it turned into something more.

The problem?

I’m Meghan Hart.

Now I have to decide whether to trust Penny with my secret or let her go for good.

 

Returning to Alondra Valley made me really happy and even more because we finally got to hang out with Liam, who we all loved (and got angry with, never hated) in Feels Like Love. But he totally redeemed himself with this one, because he was swoony and charming and hiding the biggest secret of them all! It’s not much of a spoiler since it’s in the blurb, but after hearing about Meghan Hart in the first book, I was really excited to see where all of this with Liam would go!

Love Like No Other has:

✨ jilted bride who is also a romance author

✨ charming hero who is also a romance author

✨ secret identities

✨ insta lust

✨ gorgeous small town vibes

✨ romance book feels

✨ a steamy feel good time

What happens when a romance author slash jilted bride runs into another (secret) romance author and they spend one wild night together in the tasting room of a vineyard? The plot for an amazing book. And that’s exactly what Jenna Hartley did with Liam and Penny and this book. Their meet-cute is honestly really hot and I loved the way their relationship evolves from there. The chemistry is fantastic and the banter is epic, but be prepared for a hot first half of this book, because Jenna amps up the steam!

I feel like there’s so much about this book that needs to stay out of my review, because it takes away from the story itself, but what I can say is that as an indie author myself, I loved how much of that process and the struggles Jenna pored into this book. AND as someone with IBS, seeing a character suffering from the same thing as me in romance felt pretty special too. Also, after all of the excitement of the book conventions that happened recently, to read about it in a book also made me feel like I was totally missing out on something. But at the same time, it was such a nice inclusion, to really showcase the life of a romance author that way.

Penny and Liam have wild chemistry and fit together so well, but it’s in the little things they do together that just really makes them such an interesting pair. I loved their scenes with Liam’s family and just how well Penny fit in with everyone. I enjoyed watching their feelings develop and grow through a lot of the hard stuff they deal with, but also a lot of the secrets coming out.

And the best part? Seeing so many familiar faces from Jenna’s books! And let’s not even forget those tiny teasers for who might be coming next. I am definitely intrigued to see what happens for Tristan and his kids as well as Asher and his playboy ways. Gimme more Alondra Valley, Jenna!

Thanks to Jenna Hartley for generously providing me with an advance copy. I am voluntarily leaving an honest review.



Leave a comment

About Me

Hi! I’m Anna P. and welcome to my blog! I’ve been reading romance exclusively since 2010 and been reviewing and blogging for a few years since. In 2021, I published my debut romance novel that can be found on Amazon and in Kindle Unlimited.

my books

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started